Wandering Second Life on a motorcycle.

Taking a seaside nap on my Blackheart "Tribute."

So here we are. At the beginning. 

Who am I? Let me elaborate a little past what’s in the “About Me.”  My name’s Duranu Razorfen (friends just call me Dur) and I’m one of the many denizens of the virtual world Second Life. It’s a world where you can pretty much do almost anything as well as be almost anything you could possibly want.  

Now to get it out-of-the-way… I know some will probably ask first upon meeting me, “What’s with the funny ears and is that a tail?” Yes, I sport feline ears as well as a twitchy feline tail. In Second Life, I am a Neko or Catboy if that helps one understand anything. The ears and tail are a physical representation of bits and pieces of my own personality. That’s a whole other blog of information to look into however, and not necessarily the reason for this blog. 

Shortly after setting foot in Second Life, I saw someone ride past me on a motorcycle (or virtual representation thereof… follow me here). It was one of my first, if not THE first, moments in that world where I said to myself, “Must…  get…  one!”  So, after questioning people here and there, I finally acquired my first bike (given to me by my lovely wife…  Love you Kyren). 

 

 

Probably the most recognizable freebie motorcycle found pretty much anywhere in Second Life. Little did I know how much of an impact it would have on my virtual self.  It wasn’t long before the itch took me and I acquired another, and another, and yet another. I’ve acquired everything from Lucky Chair and Midnight Mania board freebies, to some of the priciest bikes on the market. It crept into my fashion sense and I took in some amazingly awesome looking leathers, jackets, gloves… 

I pretty much became a shopaholic. 

My biggest vice though and one I always ended up crawling back to: Motorcycles. My collection grew quickly from different styles and makers. Now I’m even painting bikes (MLCC bikes currently) and working at possibly building my own as well! 

Entire outfit (incl. boots) by Ravensoul Gear. Bike is a MLCC "El Cabron" with custom paintjob by me.

As I acquired more, I’d travel from sim to sim more. As I’d travel from sim to sim, I would meet more interesting and friendly people.  Many of which taking an interest in what I was riding which would always bring up a myriad of questions. “Where did I get it?” “How does it ride?”  “Can it do this or that?” “Where’s a good place to ride?”  

This is how this blog got its start (with the help of a truly wonderful and endearing friend in SL…  THANKS STACIA!). 

This is my way of taking you with me as I ride the streets of Second Life. I’ll be making pit stops where one can acquire bikes, ride them, and even possibly build them. I’ll look at motorcycle related gear and where to find them. I’ll highlight interesting stops along the way, interesting people, and whatever else happens to catch my fancy. Of course, I’m always open to suggestions, but this should be a good start for now. Got a lot of work cut out for me now. Better get started! 

See you on the road!

~ by duranu on May 4, 2010.

Leave a comment